KCJ Contest Rules YOUR LOG SUBMISSION IS INDISPENSABLE.

[NEW!]

- 1. KCJ issues the certificate of the participation in KCJ Contest and the award, KCJCA (Keymen's Club of Japan Contest Award).
 - 2. Exchange for a non-JA station is CQ Zone number. Contacts between non-JA stations count one (1) point.
- 1. Name of Contest: The 42nd KCJ Contest.
- 2. Period: Starts 1200 UTC August 21, 2021. Ends 1200 UTC August 22, 2021.
- 3. Categories and codes:

Participants in Japan (JA): CP: Single Operator Multi-band QRP

CA: Single Operator Multi-band

C**: Single Operator Single-band (ex. C18 for 1.8MHz)

CM: Multi Operator

Participants in overseas

All a subject to the season

All participants

DX: Multi-band

SWL: Multi-band CL: Check Log

Any kind of assistance for station operations for a category of Single Operator is prohibited. However, you may use "QSO finding assistance" such as, but not limited to, DX cluster, CW skimmer, Reverse Beacon Network and so on. A QRP station must run the output power of five (5) watts or lower.

4. **Bands**: 1.8 through 50MHz, except 3.8 MHz band and WARC ones. Suggested frequencies:

1801 - 1825 kHz, 3510 - 3530 kHz, 7010 - 7040 kHz, 14050 - 14080 kHz, 21050 - 21080 kHz, 28050 - 28080 kHz, 50.050 - 50.090 MHz

There is no limitation in frequency range indicated above on 1.8 MHz band for the stations overseas.

On the other hand, JA stations are limited to be on 1801-1820 kHz and they are allowed to get on 1820-1825 kHz only if they call DX stations.

- Mode: CW.
- 6. Exchange:

JA: RST plus Prefecture/district code (e.g., 599 TK)

DX: RST plus CQ Zone number (e.g., 599 03)

7. **Point**: All logs will be collated with each other and each complete contact on each band counts points as follows.

For JA: one (1) point for a contact with JA, two (2) points with DX

For DX: two (2) points for a contact with JA, one (1) point with others.

When logs of other stations you contacted are not submitted, those contacts do not count points. Therefore, <u>YOUR LOG SUBMISSION IS INDISPENSABLE</u>.

- 8. **Multipliers** For JA: Each prefecture/district and CQ Zone worked on each band For DX: Each prefecture/district in JA worked on each band QSO data are cross-checked each other and coincidence QSO count points.
- 9. **Scoring**: Multiplying total points by total multipliers

10. Log instructions:

Cabrillo file format or JARL file format are recommended.

- a. Each entry must be accompanied by summary sheet showing all scoring information, name and street-address of a participant.
- b. A QSO data should contain date, time, band, call sign and exchanges both sent and received.
- c. JA must log the time of all QSO in JST and DX does it in UTC.
- d. Output power must be described in the log of the category QRP.
- e. Names of all operators must be described in the log of the category Multi Operator.

11. Log submission

- a. Web upload of logs is available at https://kcj-cw.com/
- b. Logs in Cabrillo format may be submitted directly to e-mail address described below.

Be sure to put your call sign in the subject line of your e-mail.

2021kcjtest(a)kcj-cw.com (a) must be replaced with @.

c. Paper logs may be mailed to

Takayuki Nakamura, 4-7 Shinden-Nakamachi, Daito, 574-0056, Japan

- 12. Log Deadline: 1500 UTC September 4, 2021 for all logs.
- 13. **Releasing Results**: Results of Contest will appear at KCJ web site on the first day of October. KCJ informs the participants of the URL and the results of

the cross-checking, who described his/her e-mail address in their logs.

The web site at this URL is available for download the Contest results, the certificate of merit, the certificate of participation.

Participant who does not receive the URL information from KCJ, please e-mail to cont-qstn(a)kcj-cw.com. Those who want paper awards must inform KCJ (cont-qstn(a)kcj-cw.com, replace (a) with @) by 1500 UTC October 31, 2021.

- 14. Awards: Certificates will be awarded to:
 - a. JA: Several high rank entrants and the top in each prefecture/district. The number of high rank stations who are awarded depends on the number of participants.
 - b. DX: The top in each DXCC entity.

Award for SWL follows the same policy.

- 15. **The certificate of participation**: KCJ proves the participation of entrants in KCJ Contest with this certificate in which your call sign, name, score and rank appears.
- 16. **KCJCA**: KCJ issues the award KCJCA (Keymen's Club of Japan Contest Award) for the achievement of working many Japanese prefectures/districts.
- 17. **Prohibition**: Two or more simultaneous signals for a single operator

Two or more operation positions for multi operator

Two or more signals on a band for multi operator

- 18. **Disqualification:** Participants are expected to follow laws of each country and the KCJ Contest rules. KCJ contest committee makes the final decision to disqualify a violator.
- 19. **Appeal**: Those who has objections to the results can e-mail to cont-qstn(a)kcj-cw.com with clear evidence or to paper log submission address no later than 1500 UTC October 10, 2021. (replace (a) with @)

REFERENCE

A. Japanese Prefecture/District codes

1. Area 1 (for JA1 through JS1, 7J1 and 7K1-7N4)

CB: Chiba GM: Gumma IB: Ibaraki KN: Kanagawa MT: Minamitorishima OG: Ogasawara ST: Saitama TG: Tochigi

TK: Tokyo YN: Yamanashi

2. Area 2 (for JA2 through JS2)

AC: Aichi GF: Gifu ME: Mie SO: Shizuoka

3. Area 3 (for JA3 through JS3)

HG: Hyogo KT: Kyoto NR: Nara OS: Osaka

SI: Shiga WK: Wakayama

4. Area 4 (for JA4 through JS4)

HS: Hiroshima OY: Okayama SN: Shimane TT: Tottori

YG: Yamaguchi

5. Area 5 (for JA5 through JS5)

EH: Ehime KA: Kagawa KC: Kochi TS: Tokushima

6. Area 6 (for JA6 through JS6)

FO: Fukuoka KG: Kagoshima KM: Kumamoto MZ: Miyazaki NS Nagasaki ON: Okinawa OT: Oita SG: Saga

7. Area 7 (for JA7 through JS7)

AM : Aomori AT: Akita FS: Fukushima IT: Iwate

MG: Miyagi YM: Yamagata

8. Area 8 (for JA8 through JS8)

OH: Okhotsk HD: Hidaka HY: Hiyama IR: Iburi IS: Ishikari KK: Kamikawa KR: Kushiro NM: Nemuro OM: Oshima RM: Rumoi SB: Shiribeshi SC: Sorachi

SY: Soya TC: Tokachi

9 Area 9 (for JA9 through JS9)

FI: Fukui IK: Ishikawa TY: Toyama

10. Area 0 (for JA0 through JS0)

NI: Niigata NN: Nagano